The Club
Find out more about the '42s', our club history, club honoursand the origin of our logo.
Although the origins of Marchmont Cricket Club are not fully confirmed, the club in its current form was formed in 1975 out of the former Brunswick Cricket Club.  The club initially played friendly midweek limited over cricket, generally on the Meadows in central Edinburgh, building up a large playing contingent with predominantly Indian and Scottish roots.
The club grew in stature and size predominantly under the auspices of Roger Sardesai, Joe Hannaford, Bashir Wadee and Mahendra Chetty, eventually joining the East of Scotland League in 1979 and moving to 50 over a side standard.  At this stage Marchmont also moved to their now home of Cavalry Park in Duddingston, also the home of Portobello Rugby Club.  

It was after a successful 1983 season, where the Marchmont 1st XI finished 3rd in ESCA division 4, that Marchmont's ranks grew sufficiently enough to create a 2nd XI and in 1984 they entered this team in the grade setup.  Success came quickly, winning the Grade D Championship in 1985, followed closely by a runners up spot in the SCU cup in 1986.

The early nineties saw the 1st XI pick up their first Championship, ESCA Division 3, in 1991 and progress up the leagues, peaking at 3rd in Division 1 in both 1996 and 1997.  The 2nds were not to be out done either, winning the Grade C Championship in 1994 and in the year following, the 3rd XI was formed.  It was not solely weekend league cricket where MCC were finding success.  After being runners up three times on the bounce, MCC won back to back Parks Trophies in 1993 and 1994, then added a 1997 success.

Unfortunately the late 90s was not to be so rosy for all at MCC.  The natural ebb and flow of players, particularly in a club like Marchmont, saw playing numbers dwindle. Ultimately relegation from Div 1, talks of club mergers and the disbanding of the 3rd XI meant a period of rebuilding.  Whilst the 1st XI bounced back in 2001 with an ESCA Div 2 Championship, the 2nd XI slipped down the leagues, only managing one win in almost 2 seasons.  

The mid 2000s saw a halt to the 2nd XI tumble, turning things round with promotion back to Div 5 in 2004, a year that also saw a couple of successful cup runs.  MCC's happy knack of being involved in thrilling finishes saw them take the Parks Trophy for a 4th time in 2003 by a single run and a last ball thriller in the semi finals of the Small Clubs Cup against Dollar led to a final showdown against Rossie Priory, a game MCC were to lose.  MCC's stranglehold on the Metcalfe Trophy was also established, winning the trophy 5 years in a row.

Although both teams flirted with promotion and relegations it was not until 2009, when a surge of new players and a reshaping of the club, meant that the silverware cabinet was to be added to again.  MCC picked up the Terry Newcombe Trophy in 2009, followed closely by the Division 2 Championship in 2010 - a Championship taken only in the last weeks of the season and by just a single point.  MCC's ethos of 'Play hard.  Play fair.' has served them well and has meant MCC continue to have a good relationship with others in the cricketing community, recognised by their peers in winning the East League fair play awards for Divisions 1 and 2, three years on the spin.  

Following this, the 2nd XI were promoted four times in five years (2011, 2013, 2014 & 2015) and will start 2017 in Division 3. The 1st XI wil play in East League Championship in 2017 after consolidating, also finishing in their highest ever league position in 2015.

Marchmont CC’s club logo was first created in 2003, from an idea by Colin Smith and through work by Neil Granger.  

42 Warrender Park Road had been the home of Roger Sardesai and the main meeting point (and occasional lodgings) for the teams over the years.  It was a well known place, with the wooden plaque on the door signifying the postal number familiar to all members and indeed other teams.  

The club needed an identity and it was decided that a new club logo had to mean something to the members, rather than being generic.  It was decided that the use of the stylised ‘42’ as a logo suited this criteria, as well as something unique.  

The ‘42’ logo has graced the club shirt since the 2004 season.

A Brief History


Club Captain
pre 2010 - Previously undertaken by 1st XI Captain
2010 - 2016 - Neil Granger
2017 ongoing - Will Collier

1st XI
1996 - 1999 - Malcolm McNulty
2000 - Tony O'Donnell
2001 - 2003 - Stuart Macgregor
2004* - 2008 - Will Collier
2008 - 2009 - Neil Granger
2010 - 2014 - Sam Peachey
2015 - 2018 - Pete Maksimczyk
2019 onwards - Paddy Keogh

*2008 - Neil Granger was acting 1st XI Captain for the season after game 1, due to injury to Will, who remained Club Captain.
2nd XI
2000 - David Hannaford
2001 - Steve Lloyd/Neil Granger
2002 - David Hannaford/Neil Granger
2003 - Neil Wilson
2004 - 2007 - Pat Snowdon
2008 - 2009 - Alan Renwick
2010 - 2012 - John MacConnachie
2013 - 2016 - Steve Clayton
2016 - 2017 - Navin Chetty
2018 - Navin Chetty / Steve Clayton /
            Neil Granger
2019 - Steve Clayton / Neil Granger /
            Harith Ramachandra

3rd XI
1999 - Roger Sardesai
2000 - 2015 - No 3rd XI Team
2016 - 2017 - Malcolm Burgen
2017 ongoing - Rob Trantor

Club Honours

Club Records

East of Scotland League Division 1
Runners Up 2014

East of Scotland League Division 2
Champions 2001, 2010
Runners Up 2005

East of Scotland League Division 3
Champions 1991
Runners Up 1990

East of Scotland League Division 4
Runners Up 2015

East of Scotland League Division 5
Runners Up 2014

East of Scotland League Division 6
Runners Up 2004, 2013

East of Scotland League Division 7
Runners Up 2011

East of Scotland League Grade C
Winners 1994
Runners Up 1991

East of Scotland League Grade D
Winners 1985

Fair Play Award Championship
Winner 2015, 2016
Runners Up 2017

Fair Play Award Division 1
Winner 2011

Fair Play Award Division 2
Winner 2008, 2009, 2010

Fair Play Award Division 3
Runners Up 2017

Fair Play Award Division 8
Winner 2017

Runners Up 1986

Small Clubs Cup
Runners Up 2004

Parks Trophy
Winners 1993, 1994, 1997, 2003
Runners Up 1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1999, 2014

Activcity (formerly Cow Corner) 20|20
Winners 2011, 2012, 2013
Runners Up 2008 

Braw Skelp T20
Runners Up 2018

Terry Newcombe Trophy
Winners 2009

Metcalfe Trophy
Winners 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2011, 2012
Runners Up 2010, 2013

Live Sport on TV/ESCA Indoor 6s
Winners 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017

Mark Wright Trophy
Winners 1992

Mitre Trophy
Winners 1977

Midweek League 
Champions 1992, 2002, 2004, 2011
Runners Up 2003

Brunswick 6s
Runners Up 2004

Murrayfield 6s
Winners 1992

Honours board and club records for MCC.
Club Records
Season Leaders